Anti Ragging Committee

Ragging is strictly prohibited in SVIMS

The Maharashtra Prohibition of Ragging Act, 1999, promulgates strict action against any student who indulges in ragging:
“Ragging means display of disorderly conduct, doing of any act which causes or is likely to cause physical or psychological
harm or raise apprehension or fear or shame or embarrassment to a student in any educational institution.”

Penalties include fine/suspension/dismissal and/or imprisonment and being debarred from seeking admission to any other institution. The punishment may also take the shape of:

(i) withholding scholarships or other benefits
(ii) debarring from representation in events
(iii) withholding results
(iv) suspension or expulsion from hostel or mess, and the like.

SVIMS has its own Anti-Ragging Committee and Monitoring Cell, constituted according to AICTE norms to ensure compliance with the Directives of the Supreme Court, the Central and State Governments, Pune University and AICTE.

Severe action will be taken against students indulging in, aiding or abetting Ragging.

SVIMS Anti-Ragging Committee

Dr. B H Nanwani – Head

Dr. Abhijeet Kaiwade – Head of Department

Ms. Vaishali Patil – Asst. Professor

Mr. Balram Jatav- Representative of Parents

Mr. Vinayak Phule – Registrar

Mr. Anup Satphale- Senior Correspondent(Times Group, Pune)

Mr. Ishaq Shaikh –  President of Pune Youth Foundation (NGO)

Representative from Police Administration

Ms. Deepka Jatav – Student Representative (2nd year)

Ms. Harshali Chandgadkar – Student Representative (1st year)